Our Curriculum

Our learning and teaching programs are guided by the Australian Curriculum. The Australian Curriculum describes what young Australians should learn as they progress through schooling. It is the foundation for their future learning, growth and active participation in the Australian community. It sets out essential knowledge, understanding, skills and capabilities and provides a national standard for student achievement in core learning areas.

The Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA) has a rigorous and robust curriculum development process to produce a high-quality national curriculum. ACARA draws on the best national talent and expertise to draft the curriculum and considers thousands of opinions from teachers, academics and parents to business, industry and community groups – to make improvements along the way.

Subject structure: Each subject has the following sections:
  • rationale and aims
  • year level descriptions
  • content descriptions (knowledge, understanding & skills)
  • content elaborations (illustrative examples only)
  • achievement standards that describe the quality of learning and the depth of understanding
  • annotated student work samples
  • glossary
General Capabilities: key skills, behaviours and dispositions developed within all subjects.
  • Literacy
  • Numeracy
  • Information and communication technology (ICT) competence
  • Critical & creative thinking
  • Ethical behaviour
  • Personal & social competence
  • Intercultural understanding
Cross Curriculum Priorities:
  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and cultures
  • Asia and Australia's engagement with Asia
  • Sustainability